I love the Cosby's. It's funny that I say that though because I don't really love the Cosby's; I love the Huxtables. This lovely made-up family of five children and two hard-working parents brings humor into my life whenever they show up on our TV. We just completed Season 2, and I was amazed at how many of the shows I had seen growing up, considering that the show started when I was born. And they are just as funny as ever! They just don't make TV shows like this anymore! What ever happened to good old clean comedy? All the sitcoms these days are filled with sex, lies, and a breakdown of the family. At least it seems that way.
Do I love The Cosby Show? Yes. Is it realistic? Probably not unless you have a dad like Bill Cosby. But I think the sibling interactions are pretty spot on, as well as the potential for marital bliss and strife portrayed by Heathcliff and Claire Huxtable. I do not believe, however, the lack of tiredness on this show. Both Cliff and Claire work full time jobs while trying to maintain a family of five busy children. Sure, they have enough money for whatever they need, which has the potential to save time. I just want to know how Claire comes home looking freshly powdered and gracefully smiling after an 8-hour day at a law firm with loads full of energy to make dinner and help the kids with their homework. Is it that there are no small children in the home who wake her up in the middle of the night for midnight feedings? When the show begins, the youngest is in Kindergarten I believe. And what of Cliff? He seems to only have a few all nighter baby deliveries, and seems to be puttering around the house from one thing to the next with few interruptions, as I don't imagine a real-life OBGYN is able to accomplish.
So enough about their cheery demeanors. More about Claire. I think she is a great role model for women in general, and she has amazing strengths and wonderful wit. She also wears the pants in the family. Take that any way you'd like. However; I feel that her expectations of her husband are sometimes too high. Does she really expect her husband to remember the name of the song that was playing on the radio the first time they went out? Or the color of her outfit when he proposed? I think these are things women focus too much while forgetting that most men are not into such details. Of course, she does this all in jest, but I feel that it hits an all true problem that many women face today. Our expectations are too high of our spouses.
We really need to focus on the things that matter... does your spouse/significant other remember the things about you now? I only remember what I was wearing when my husband proposed because of photographs of the occasion, not because I was paying attention to such things. (Heck, I was oblivious to almost everything that day) I surely don't recall what I was wearing the day he first kissed me or what song was playing on the radio during our first date. Like I said, in the Huxtable home, it was all in jest. And that is the best part about The Cosby Show, the fun, the humor, and the good times.
One more note, I am pretty sure that we will be the same with our kids about BYU-Idaho as the Huxtables are about Hillman.I just find this to be a very true thread in the show. Who knew you could create such an alliance with a fictional college?
What are your views of The Cosby Show?
Do you think there are any equally clean sitcoms out there today to enjoy?
Friday, June 24, 2011
A shout out to the library system
There are a few things you should understand about me. For one, I haven't been to a movie since my youngest was born. Maybe one; but it's long enough ago I don't really remember. Do I like going to the movies? Sure! Do I like paying all that money out? (not to mention the added popcorn & soda that are a must when you go to the theater) No. I am a fairly frugal person. Do I rent movies? Occasionally. But I do watch a lot of movies. We also don't subscribe to any instant streaming television or cable TV. I watch a lot of TV shows too, though. So, how, you may ask, do I watch all of these movies and television shows? The good old library, my friends.
I am unsure how popular media entered the mainstream library system, but I am not complaining. I "rent" cds so that I can check out the music before I buy. Or I just listen to it until I get my fill. I get practically all the movies and television shows I watch from the library too. This means I am usually a few years behind (if not decades) before seeing the latest popular media, but I have learned to wait. Mostly because it's free. And I appreciate free.
Since moving to Washington, I have been highly in love with the library systems out here. The two I have been a part of (King County and Sno-Isle) are both county wide systems. I simply can go online, search what I am looking for, and place a hold request for the items. Some items I have to wait months to get, while others I get immediately. The Sno-Isle is especially wonderful because you can keep items for 3 weeks (even DVDs), which is a beautiful alternative to a one-week checkout. (I mean seriously, who can watch a 26-epidosde season of a television show in one week?) So, this may mean I have to wait a little bit longer to get what I want, but I have learned to wait. Besides, I usually have so many requests at any given time, I usually have one or two really good things come up every week.
What I miss about the Utah libraries? The abundance of LDS books and other media. I actually only read them occasionally, but it was nice knowing they were there. I have found a few here, though. And that has been sufficient for my needs.
So currently, I have a lot of books, cds, movies, and television series on hold. I have been steadily watching Smallville and 7th Heaven, and for a good family time, The Cosby Show. Remarks to come on said shows. We also get a lot of books from the library. I go through phases in life of doing projects, reading books, or watching shows. I have been in the later lately (which often coincides with projects). Mostly, we get children's books. So reviews of those will be abundant as well.
Do you use the library system in your town? Do you like it?
Do you watch TV? If so, how? What are your favorite shows to watch?
Do you go to the movies or prefer to rent?
I am unsure how popular media entered the mainstream library system, but I am not complaining. I "rent" cds so that I can check out the music before I buy. Or I just listen to it until I get my fill. I get practically all the movies and television shows I watch from the library too. This means I am usually a few years behind (if not decades) before seeing the latest popular media, but I have learned to wait. Mostly because it's free. And I appreciate free.
Since moving to Washington, I have been highly in love with the library systems out here. The two I have been a part of (King County and Sno-Isle) are both county wide systems. I simply can go online, search what I am looking for, and place a hold request for the items. Some items I have to wait months to get, while others I get immediately. The Sno-Isle is especially wonderful because you can keep items for 3 weeks (even DVDs), which is a beautiful alternative to a one-week checkout. (I mean seriously, who can watch a 26-epidosde season of a television show in one week?) So, this may mean I have to wait a little bit longer to get what I want, but I have learned to wait. Besides, I usually have so many requests at any given time, I usually have one or two really good things come up every week.
What I miss about the Utah libraries? The abundance of LDS books and other media. I actually only read them occasionally, but it was nice knowing they were there. I have found a few here, though. And that has been sufficient for my needs.
So currently, I have a lot of books, cds, movies, and television series on hold. I have been steadily watching Smallville and 7th Heaven, and for a good family time, The Cosby Show. Remarks to come on said shows. We also get a lot of books from the library. I go through phases in life of doing projects, reading books, or watching shows. I have been in the later lately (which often coincides with projects). Mostly, we get children's books. So reviews of those will be abundant as well.
Do you use the library system in your town? Do you like it?
Do you watch TV? If so, how? What are your favorite shows to watch?
Do you go to the movies or prefer to rent?
The purpose behind the 7th blog
I have felt for awhile that I want a place to share my thoughts about different things in my life that do not necessarily pertain to what I do in any given day, or about my children. That being said, these perspectives will often touch on my role as a Latter-day Saint wife and mother. I know I could just add them to my current family blog, but I guess I appreciate a little division in life every now and then. These are my views, opinions, and ambitions about life as I see it through books I read, tv shows I watch, songs and other media that affect my life. And just anything else random I feel like sharing.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)